General Category > OpenLase Discussion

LaserShark / Openlase / Raspberry Pi ?

(1/3) > >>

Fabrice:
Hi ,

;D First of all thank you very much for this useful forum , i'm very happy to have discocered such a great place !  ;D (and aopologize my poor english Frenchie inside...)

I'm dreaming of owning a laser projector for quite a long time now and i have finally purchase the necessary hardware (galvo, drivers, laser source and laserShark kit) but I'm a total newbie in the linux world. :'(

So please may i ask you if I have any chance to use the raspberry pi with the Lasershark and openlase software ?

Which Linux distribition should I install on the Pi and please, could you tell me what kind of modification i must do in order to make Openlase and the included demos work ?

Sorry to be such a lamer but if someone could take the time of writing a kind of install-tuto , i'm sure that it would help lot of people ...

Thank you so much for your kindness and your patience .

Have a nice day

Macpod:
Hi Fabrice,

For 3d printers (which use bulk transfers) the raspberry pi should be fine to use however for real-time laser projector use it won't work... or if it does it will work very poorly. The raspberry pi is simply too slow for real time laser displays.

I would encourage you to install linux on your computer for development. You can install two different operating systems on the same drive, install a new internal drive and install linux onto this, or even purchase an external hard drive and install/boot off this.

Fabrice:
Hi Macpod,
Thank you very much for your answer, i'm really feel lucky and beholden to have find a such a great forum ...

I have well understand that Raspberry is not the right tool.

May I ask you if according to you, the use of a booting usb key with ubuntu 10.04 would do the job please ? I'm sorry to bother you with my poor level in linux operation but everything is still to discover for me ...