Author Topic: Tuning galvos in openlase?  (Read 6516 times)

landshark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Tuning galvos in openlase?
« on: April 22, 2014, 06:06:13 AM »
Hey ./sajmple the last few days which has been a total blast. (Only the pods for size, servo/gain, overshot & undershot damping, start them all at zero except overshot turned a few times.) But I'd elly like to use the ilda test to get it sharper. Is there any way openlase can play that? I tried playilda and it said it was playing and resampled it but unfortunately it looks like a multiple frame thing. Is there another way to tune my galvos? Thanks!
Finley
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 12:33:06 PM by Fstill »

Macpod

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Tuning galvos in openlase?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 08:18:01 PM »
I'm pretty sure the ilda test pattern is only one frame.

http://www.laserfx.com/Backstage.LaserFX.com/Systems/Scanning1.html
http://www.pangolin.com/ILDAtest.html

If you read your galvo manual they should point out which pots to change based on the results of the ilda test frame too FYI.

Edit:
By the way it is important to use the power supplies that came with your galvos.. don't mix and match them. The set was calibrated together and if you start performing swaps (i.e. ps from first kit with galvos from another kit) that may cause some goofy behavior.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 08:22:03 PM by Macpod »

landshark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Tuning galvos in openlase?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 10:35:33 PM »
Ok, thanks, I will try playilda again.